AKTUELT / Pressemeldinger

Denne side publisert
26. mars 2012

Om Teaternett
I mediebildet


Kultur og samfunn
Ferie og fritid

Uredigert pressemelding
The International Ibsen Award



The International Ibsen Award, one of the world’s most prestigious theatre prizes, is awarded for bringing a new artistic dimension to the world of drama or theatre. The winner receives 2.5 million kroner (330.000 Euro).

The winner of the International Ibsen Award 2012 is Heiner Goebbels.

The jury says:
“Heiner Goebbels - creator of works for theatre, theatre director, composer, musician, teacher and festival programmer - is one of the great creative personalities of today.

He is responsible for an astounding body of work in disparate disciplines and has exerted a profound influence on theatre practitioners and musicians.

His theatrical work extends from a large scale work for the opera house to an installation for theatre without actors. Each piece is essentially different in character and form and each is genuinely ground breaking. He is a true innovator and his works defy conventional definition.

He has explored and expanded the relationship between theatre and music and in so doing has developed the elements of theatre in a way that has opened up new insights and possibilities. In this way he fulfills the fundamental purpose of theatre to widen our experience of ourselves and of the world.

His work has been seen in over 50 different countries transforming the experience of audiences and influencing a wide range of performing and creative artists. In addition he has been a pioneer in the use of technology in theatre.

The power and significance of his work will in the future increase and will influence theatre and theatre making for the decades and generations to come.”

About the winner: Heiner Goebbels was born in Germany, 1952. He has composed and directed music theatre since the 1990s. Some of his most famous works include Black on White, Max Black, Eraritjaritjaka, Stifters Dinge, and Songs of Wars I Have Seen. Most have been produced by Theatre Vidy, Lausanne.

Heiner Goebbels is professor at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies of the Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, President of the Theatre Academy of Hesse, and artistic director for RUHRTRIENNALE.

Note to editors:
· The award ceremony takes place during the International Ibsen Festival at the National Theatre in Oslo 23.8.-9.9. Eraritjaritjaka will be the festival’s finale.

· The Norwegian government funds the award.

· The award has previously been awarded to Peter Brook, Ariane Mnouchkine and Jon Fosse.

· Henrik Ibsen was born in Skien, Norway on the 20th March 1828.

Press contact: Stine Strachan
+47 95 91 17 99 / stine.strachan@nationaltheatret.no

Teaternett formidler uredigerte pressemeldinger fra norsk og internasjonalt teater. Teaternett mottar ingen betaling eller andre former for motytelser for denne tjenesten. Vi forbeholder oss retten til uten forklaring å publisere, eller la være å publisere innkomne meldinger. Hjelp oss å være oppdatert! Ønsker ditt teater å formidle noe - send oss en pressemelding!
Vår epostadresse:  teaternett@teaternett.no